Second test using APAP

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Second test using APAP

Hi everyone, new here so I do apologise if this is in the wrong place or if these questions have been answered somewhere else!

I had a monitor with oximeter to wear overnight last month and I had a letter from the clini today asking me to go back and see them. At this appointment I will be loaned an APAP machine and mask which again i will wear overnight and take back the following day.

I have no details of any results and I'm wondering if this is another test to determine whether I have sleep apnoea or whether as they're giving me an APAP machine it's to judge what my upper and lower levels should be set at. Like I said im new to the world of sleep apnoea so any info you can give me would be great. The clinic is an absolute nightmare to get through to and when I do get through nobody seems to be available to answer questions so I thought posting here would be quicker

Lisa

Hi Scarlet79

Welcome to the forum!

Your clinic sounds typical of so many NHS clinics so it's not only quicker to ask here, but the answerswill be more informative.

The oximeter confirmed for them that you suffer OSA and the APAP is to determinje what pressure you need - to titrate your own machine. You may get an APAP but I wouldn't hold your hopes out. More likely you will get a bog standard CPAP, same as most of us.

One nighgt with an APAP may give them good data but anyone can have a bad night - a week is the norm, if such a beast exists in the NHS.