Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Confused

Hello Everyone

I am wondering if you could help me. I have been diagnosed with Severe OSA in November 19; however have been waiting since then for an NHS hospital appointment for a CPAP machine.

My local CPAP clinic is not running at the moment due to COVID-19, and I really can’t cope with the OSA anymore untreated. It is having an serious impact on my relationship and work.

With the NHS being no help at the moment, I was wondering if you can help me buy my own CPAP and mask and let me know what I would need?

I know absolutely nothing about CPAP so am an absolute newbie!

Thank you in advance!

Good Morning,

Thank you for your email. What I can do is give you some information to get you started.

Here is a link to the advice section on our website - https://www.cpap.co.uk/information/c...ice/cpap-masks This is worth a quick read and does answer many of people's initial questions.

To get you started with CPAP therapy, you would need a CPAP machine and mask.

To start with, you will need to choose an Automatic CPAP machine. These machines work between a lower lower and an upper limit, increasing and decreasing during the night based on your requirement at any given time. There are fixed-pressure machines also, but this is only an option once you have used an Automatic machine for a period of time. All the CPAP machines work the same way, and you cannot make a "wrong" choice in terms of the effectiveness. The difference between them are the features that they offer, and therefore which you feel you would benefit from.
    For example:

1. Dreamstation Auto - This has Bluetooth connectivity, and an app/website that you can review your data on a daily basis to see how well the therapy is working. It is probably the quietest machine currently available (though all are under 30Db).